School Shenanigans: Week 1

Right, time to do that what I must do every week: post something related to what I’m doing in class. Hells to the yeah, we’re doing obligatory response posts. And until I’m told otherwise I’m doing this in the least academically acceptable way I can think of. Professionalism? Son, you’re reading this on the Internet, where free time goes to die and even when you’re right, you’re doing it wrong.

So, we had to read a bunch of stuff I’m too lazy to link to individually, that all had one central theme running through them.


Pictured: The assignments

Okay, so I actually read all the assignments like a good little student, but the point was that people aren’t reading as much as they used to. I can feel a disturbance in the force, like a thousand irate commenters crying out at once. Strange, I pretty sure at best this blog has two people reading it. Okay, so that last statement needs a bit of an explanation. People these days are simultaneously reading more and less than they used to. The sheer number of words that we take in each day far exceeds previous generations. Between social networking, texting, twitter, online forums, IM programs, online articles, and everything else, we are almost constantly bombarded with words. However we’re taking them in much smaller doses. So instead of books and essays we’re getting synopsis and soundbites.

Basically old reading is like a cannon. It’s big, it’s focused, and it can do a lot, but only in one place.

Photobucket
A Book

While the internet is a bit more… silly. It’s a lot bigger than a book, but scattershot and very unwieldy.

Photobucket
The Internet

And it makes sense really. Over the summer the fates (and shoddy Chinese craftsmanship) conspired to take the term “Yiff in hell furfag” to a whole new extreme by setting my house on fire the eve of a big furry convention. (See my guide to furries to figure out what I’m talking about). As a side effect of the house fire I was left without any internet for two weeks, limited net for another two weeks, and just for fun no internet for another two weeks. For those who can’t count that meant I spend a month an a half with pretty much no connection to the outside world.

Luckily Boarders was going out of business at the time, so I loaded up on books, and threw myself into them. I burned through two novels and half of the Count of Monte Cristo, which may as well be another two novels considering that beast’s size. Once I get net connection back my reading dropped dramatically. So through completely unreliable anecdotal evidence I can see where the authors are coming from.

Hell, even the internet already knows this. tl; dr (too long; didn’t read) is older than the internet, and a quick and easy was for assholes to dismiss something out of hand.

tl;dr:

Photobucket

About cacthenerd

Dude, let me in, I'm a fairy.
This entry was posted in School Shenanigans. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to School Shenanigans: Week 1

  1. calebbetton says:

    I like that you pointed out that while we may be “reading less” than we used to, we are, at the same time, also “reading more”. It is really just a matter of the “quality of content” that we are reading on the Web. Some people do in-depth research on the Web, while others read retarded, worthless shit.

  2. rayc205 says:

    Is it better to read the back of cereal boxes or retarded, worthless shit on the internet? Is it the same? Both are making us read more…

    • cacthenerd says:

      Well, yes and no. Yes there is a lot of worthless shit on the internet, and yes reading it doesn’t really enrich anything. But at the same time we’re seeing a huge swelling in writing. What a lot of people seem to forget, or what they don’t realize, is that not everyone reads and writes prolifically. The types of people who read mostly texts or facebook posts wouldn’t be reading Shakespeare if there wasn’t an internet; they’d be watching crappy TV. Case in point: One of my old bosses, upon learning I wanted to be a writer, boasted that he hadn’t read a book in over fifteen years. The only people on the internet fifteen years ago were nerds and Al Gore.

  3. seansakdiponephong says:

    You had a lot of great points in your blog and the whole comparison between a book and cannon makes a lot of sense. It’s kind of lame how the ability to cruise through books relates to your ability to surf the web. A few years ago I went to live with family overseas for a month and a half without an internet connection because they could barely afford running water. Living in a situation like that really allowed to enjoy the books I had but after I returned home I could barely get through one in a few weeks. Its really strange how it works like that.

  4. jamiezig says:

    cac, I’m loving the blog posts. they’re in-your-face, fun, and…colorful.

Leave a Reply

