An important lession I learned from ponies.

The other night I had a revelation after seeing The Hunger Games. The movies about murdering children really needs a psychotic cannibal and shaky cam needs to die. But more importantly I need to stop hating on Twilight.

Wrong Twilight

At first I was avoiding the Hunger Games at first because the only thing I knew about it was it had a ton of female teen followers and was called “The Next Twilight.” That really irked me for some reason, and I resolved to avoid it like the plague. Another Twilight? That sounds terrible.

Damn it I said wrong Twilight, we did that joke already.

In the past I’ve really looked down on the Twilight fans. From everything I’ve heard the books are plainly written, the characters are flat, the main character is textbook Mary Sue, the plot is formulaic and repetitive, the message is misogynistic (women’s best traits are their chastity and their ability to produce babies), and the movies are full of laughable effects. Oh, and the werewolf turns into a were-pedophile in the end for no real reason. But I’ve never read the books, or seen the movies, so I can’t really judge.

Yes, that Twilight.

The Hunger Games turned out to be none of that. The plot was more interesting, and the characters had a bit more depth than expected. I walked out of the theater wanting to see a sequel; it wasn’t perfect, but it was worth seeing. So I started wondering, why was I so hostile to this to begin with? And it was the Twilight stigma. I’d been so wrapped up in hating Twlight that I almost missed a good movie.

Later that night I was surfing the net, looking at some message boards and seeing all the hateful pony art. Last year My Little Pony kind of exploded on the nerdy side of the internet, garnering a many fans in a ridiculously short amount of time. The backlash was a lot of haters cropped up to push back against the colorful wave that was sweeping over the net. And as a fan of the show it baffled me why so many people vehemently hate the show. I understood the show wasn’t for everyone, but it you don’t why attack it? Why not just ignore it?

Then I realized something terrifying. “Good lord I hate Twilight in the same way they hate Twilight.” So, no more hating on the Twilight fans. If they like sparkly vampires and hot shirtless werewolves then more power to them. People are going to like what they like, attacking it isn’t going to make them like it any less, or make it go away. Critiquing a work is one thing, if there’s a flaw the creator deserves to know about it so they can fix it. But just attacking something because you don’t like it? That’s just silly.

About cacthenerd

Dude, let me in, I'm a fairy.
This entry was posted in Other Stuff and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to An important lession I learned from ponies.

  1. M.S. Fowle says:

    I find it hard not to hate on Twilight [fans] as well. I haven’t read/seen Hunger Games yet, but watching the crazed tween fans (and their moms) screaming for it in droves definitely made my eyes roll.

    • cacthenerd says:

      I used to be right there with you, but “crazed fans” is a relative term. Everyone has something they’re crazy about. The “Team Edward/Team Jacob” group aren’t that much different from sports fans who paint their faces/bodies for games, music fans who spend hours driving around and waiting in lines to see their favorite bands, nerds who spend months making a costume they’re only going to wear for a weekend, gamers who waiting in lines in the middle of the night to get the latest game, even fans of stuff like Good Morning America who wait outside in the freeze weather for a chance to be on the air. They can be annoying to be sure, but they’re mostly harmless.

  2. I started reading Hunger Games (and haven’t finished it yet…not from disinterest, but because I have simply too many assigned pieces to read at the moment!) While I find the premise to be interesting, the book is definitely for children–the prose isn’t exceptionally innovative, and parts of it seem to be a little watered down where there should be additional detail. A lot of people have told me “Hunger Games is sooooo good, READ IT NOW!” and while I have enjoyed it, I can’t help but think that if I were 12 years old, I’d be getting more out of it. Granted, I am only on page 60, so I don’t want to draw judgements before I have completed the novel.

    • cacthenerd says:

      Everything I’m seeing about “Hunger Games” gives me that impression; interesting concept, but held back due to it’s target audience. But I also feel it’s a catch-22. If the writer had made if for a mature audience it’d probably be overlooked, but since it was written for young adults it made a splash but comes off as a bit toothless. I’d of liked to see more of an edge, but at the same time I feel if it had that edge no one would pay attention to it.

  3. glruggieri says:

    As a huge Hunger Games fan (Team Peenis!) I hate that it’s constantly being called “the next Twilight.” That’s like calling Game of Thrones the next Lord of the Rings. While they could both be classified as “fantasy” they are two completely different stories. Same with Hunger Games and Twilight. Both marketed toward similar groups, with a fantasy/romance/futuristic type thing going on, but different in every other way.

    I’ll admit that I was one of those crazy Twilight fans in high school, which I try to forget. I’m pretty ashamed of it, especially as an English major. But I do have a problem with the flack fans of the books get. Everybody has a guilty pleasure… they’re just a bit more vocal than others.

    Courtney: Stick with it! Once you finish the first one, you’ll want to run out right away to the get the second and third.

    • cacthenerd says:

      Did you just say you’re part of Team Pen… Ooooh, wow that is a really unfortunate name to have given a character.
      And really what you’re saying is entirely my point. Hunger Games is not Twilight Saga, but because a lot of people were making that comparison I was more than ready to shy away from it.

  4. amylynnfiore says:

    I myself am not a Twilight fan in the slightest bit. Haven’t read any of the books and barely get into the movies. I am sort of happy to confess to that because I see it as being somewhat of a colt. Maybe its because you’re dealing with a squad of vampires and talking about love but I never saw the hoopla over the series. It deserves all of the glorious literary credit, but I’m sorry to say I can not give it my thumbs up.

Leave a Reply

